English [en]  

2002 Free Software Awards

The 2002 Free Software Foundation Award Ceremony was held Free and Open Source Software Developers' Meeting (FOSDEM) in Brussels, Belgium on Saturday 8 February 2003. The ceremony was held in collaboration with the Free Software Foundation Europe.

FSF President and founder, Richard Stallman, presented the award to Lawrence Lessig for promoting understanding of the political dimension of free software, including the idea that “code is law”. Lessig has also promoted ideas similar to free software in other related fields.

A committee of Free Software leaders selected the winner and two other finalists from the nominations received by the public among the thousands of mostly volunteer programmers worldwide who dedicate their time to advancing Free Software. The selection committee included: Enrique A. Chaparro, Frederic Couchet, Hong Feng, Miguel de Icaza, Raju Mathur, Frederick Noronha, Jonas Oberg, Eric Raymond, Guido van Rossum, Peter Salus, Suresh Ramasubramanian, and Larry Wall.

Prior to committee deliberations, a four month open nominations process decided the list from which the committee chose these finalists.

Lessig was chosen from three finalists for the award. The other finalists were Bruno Haible (known for his work on GNU CLISP) and Theo de Raadt (known for his work on OpenBSD).

A full press release for the event is available.

Still Photos of the Ceremony

We hope that someone took some photos and will send them to us!


 [FSF logo] “The Free Software Foundation (FSF) is a nonprofit with a worldwide mission to promote computer user freedom. We defend the rights of all software users.”


招财蟾蜍APP 启东麻将代理平台 河北11选5开奖 188比分网 比分网足球即时比分手机版 广东十一选五骗局 在线看欧美黄色片 东方6十1开奖结果今天晚上 北单 海口小姐多少钱 伦理日韩成人片 极速11选5下载-正版APP 日本av女优黄电影 济南按摩哪个地方好 北京十一选五牛 对决沙龙 南昌按摩上门服务